Custom Routes are a fantastic way to plan for your next adventure. You can use the Measure Tool to create any type of route you like, then save that measured selection as a Custom Route to add details and share with friends.
Creating a new custom route
To demonstrate how to create a custom route, we’re going to use an example. We intend to create a loop beginning at the Brush Creek trailhead that visits Lost Lake in a counter-clockwise loop.
Our planned route
- Use the Measure Tool in the top right corner to create a custom route. Clicking along a trail will wrap to the contours of the trail.
- Save the route and add an activity type (you can edit the route later to add more activity types as needed).
At this point, you do not need to do anything else to use this Custom Route on your account - it is now saved to your profile. However you must adjust the Visibility setting for the route if you plan to share it with friends.
We also recommend you add a name to your route to be able to reference it easily in the future.
- Scroll to the bottom of the newly created “Unnamed Route” and click “Edit Route”
- Add a title and (optional) subtitle, activity type(s), and overall description of the route.
- (Optional) Add a difficulty rating and any appropriate tags. These options are not required by any means, but if you plan to share this custom route with a larger group of people, it can be nice to have this kind of information.
- Set the appropriate visibility for the route. This is very important if you plan to share your route with someone else!
- Public - Visible to all users in search results and on the map. Don't select this unless you want the whole world to see it!
- Private (default) - By default, all custom routes are only visible only to you, the user who created the route. You must choose another visibility type to share this route with friends.
- Unlisted (recommended when sharing) - Visible to anyone with a URL link to that route, but does not show up in search results or on the map. Once you've saved your route, it will exist as its own unique share-able link that anyone can view who has the link. This is a great option for sharing something with a friend who doesn't have COTREX, as they'll still be able to access the route on a web browser.
- Only People Tagged - Visible only to those users who you have tagged (which is the next field on the form). Only existing COTREX users that you tag will be able to see this route.
- Tag friends - if you have friends you follow or who follow you on COTREX, you can tag them in this route to share within COTREX. Alternatively, if the route is set to Unlisted you can share a unique URL link with friends that will automatically open your custom route in the app, or in the web browser if they don't have COTREX.
- If you like, add photos - these photos will appear alongside the general description of the route.
- Make sure you save your edits! COTREX does not automatically save your progress when editing a route, so make sure you've saved your progress (at the top of the edit form) so you don't lose your progress.
That's it! You can now share this route with friends, download the route and map block for offline use, or download the .gpx with anyone!